Introduction to Shri Shivabalayogi Maharaj Trust

Introduction to Shri Shivabalayogi Maharaj Trust

Shri Shivabalayogi Maharaj, having completed twelve years of Tapas and achieving the ultimate in human attainment – Self Realization – came out of Adivarapupeta His home village, where He had the vision of the Jangama Sage and did twelve years vigorous Tapas, and travelled extensively giving Darshan to multitudes.

He visited Nandi Hills as promised to Tapaswiji Maharaj. He then went to Bangalore on the invitation of devotees, eventually establishing Bangalore as His Headquarters for all Mission activities. Later He founded ‘Shri Shivabalayogi Maharaj Trust’ to fulfil the objectives of Universal Peace, the upliftment of humanity and to help the poor and downtrodden – all these He wanted to do and emphasized that there would be no discrimination of caste, creed or religion. As Swamiji taught silent Meditation it was suitable for all seekers of all cultures.

As Founder of ‘Shri Shivabalayogi Maharaj Trust’ He assumed the offices of Chairman and Managing Trustee to guide and instruct all to fulfil the objectives of this Mission and thus came SSBMT into existence as the First Registered Mission of our Beloved Shri Shivabalayogi Maharaj.

Mataji Kailash Kumari Devi the then Maharani of Patna and Shri D. Rajagopal were the other Trustees. Mataji Kailash Kumari Devi, an ardent devotee of Swamiji, was instrumental in helping and serving Swamiji in all developmental works of the Mission. She brought all her family members, children, kith and kin to the Lotus Feet of Shri Guru Maharaj. She served Swamiji and His Mission until the last breath of her life. Not only this, in 1972 she offered her beautiful, palatial property as a center of ‘Shri Shivabalayogi Maharaj Trust’. This property is at 180C Rajpur Road, Dehradun.

Along with the above property in Dehradun ‘Shri Shivabalayogi Maharaj Trust’ has its branch centers in Doddaballapur, Hyderabad, Guntur, Anantapur and Mysore.

After Shri Swamiji attained Mahasamadhi in 1994, though bodily Guru Maharaj has disappeared to our naked eyes, millions of His devotees all over the world are experiencing His continued presence. Spiritual seekers are becoming Shri Swamiji’s ardent devotees around the globe, like in India, Sri Lanka, United States of America, Europe, Australia, Malaysia, Singapore and so on.

Smt. Lakshmi Kantamma, another ardent devotee of Swamiji, donated some property in Hyderabad and to a large extent was instrumental for an Ashram coming up in Hyderabad as a branch of ‘Shri Shivabalayogi Maharaj Trust’, Bangalore. There the team is headed by Smt. Satyavani as President, who is doing a wonderful job of taking care of its activities. In 1994 Smt. Lakshmi Kantamma took over as Chairperson of ‘Shri Shivabalayogi Maharaj Trust’, Bangalore.

For several years with her team, she did a great job of protecting the properties of the Trust and channeling its activities. In 1999 Mataji Kailash Kumari Devi’s illustrious son Shri Au Singh Deo took over as Chairman along with Shri K. B. Vishwanath, who took over the office of Working Chairman. They, along with their Trustee team, did a lot of developmental work and also protected the properties of ‘Shri Shivabalayogi Maharaj Trust’. During their tenure also activities grew and Swamiji’s Mission expanded.

Doddaballapur is perhaps the first Ashram outside Adivarapupeta established by Shri Swamiji even before coming to Bangalore. The team is headed by Mr. Chandra Shekar and other devotees who are serving Swamiji’s Mission since the earliest days when Swamiji had come to Karnataka, Nandi Hills and settled in Bangalore establishing His Headquarters.

Anantapur is another center where Shri Malikarjuna and the late Shri Tippanna Swami were instrumental in establishing a center since the 1960s.

Guntur Center was donated by Professor P. N. Murthy another ardent devotee of Shri Swamiji.

All along honorable Justice Malimat worked as an advisor in the Trust giving his valuable advice for the protection of all properties and activities.

For a long time Justice Malimat was very keen to bring Swamiji’s direct disciple Shri Shivarudra Balayogi Maharaj as Chairman of ‘Shri Shivabalayogi Maharaj Trust’. Finally in August 2015 he and the then Chairman Shri Au Singh Deo with the consent of all Trustees invited Shri Shivarudra Balayogi Maharaj, as a Yogi, to be their Chairman. After accepting the Chairmanship of the Trust Shri Shivarudra Balayogi Maharaj nominated Shri D. Rambabu to be Working Chairman. The then Working Chairman Shri K. B. Vishwanath, had an illustrious career as the Working Chairman protecting not only the properties of the Trust but also creating and maintaining a peaceful atmosphere allowing devotees to participate in sadhana activities. He also did a lot of developmental work. For health reasons when he wanted to step down as Working Chairman Shri Babaji accepted his resignation with deep appreciation of his services to Swamiji’s Mission and Trust and brought in Shri D. Rambabu as Working Chairman.

Accepting the request of the Chairman Shri Shivarudra Balayogi Maharaj, Shri Au Singh Deo, former Chairman, became an Advisor and Mr. K. B. Vishwanath, former Working Chairman, became Patron of the Trust and both continue to command great respect amongst devotees and Trustees.

Ever since Shri D. Rambabu took over as Working Chairman with an open mind he is giving all his energies and time for the welfare of the Trust and its activities like conducting meditation classes, retreats and other activities. He has proved to be a worthy person. In a very short span of time he has enhanced the developmental work, especially the Dhyana Mandir, Ashram complex, old Ashram complex, Kalyana Mantap etc. He is ably supported by the team of Trustees, C. M. Subbaiah as General Secretary, Mr G. S. Chikkashankarappa as Treasurer, Mr K. N. Mohan, Mr N. Madhusudhan Raju, Mr. P. Doreswamy Naidu, Prof. K. V. Malathi, Mr. Y. N. Srinivasa Reddy, Mr. Kalikesh N. Singh Deo (Member of Parliament), Mr. Abhimanyu Singh (Contiloe films) and Mr. Arkesh N. Singh Deo as Trustees.